The New Joy of Gay Sex Project?

The film Julie and Julia was on the Movie Network this week. As a born-again blogger (I may copyright that), I was intrigued with Julie Powell’s original project, that was to cook all the recipes in Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking in a year.

So I considered working my way through all of The New Joy of Gay Sex by Dr. Charles Silverstein and Felice Picano in much the same way, giving myself just one year to work myself through the whole book while blogging about it. It sounded like something The Husband could have some fun with as well.

And I do own a copy.

I found it on the bookshelf between Tom Wolfe and Bret Easton Ellis. However, I don’t think I’ve actually ever read through all of The New Joy of Gay Sex so I began to leaf through it from the beginning.   It’s laid out alphabetically (after the preface by Edmund White) starting with Anus and ending with Wills and Wrestling (you’d think they could come up with at least some sexy gay stuff under Y and Z at least… I admit that X seems tricky).

So it’s more like The Dictionary of Gay Sex (I should copyright that too).

But it turned out that there were a number of things I just don’t want to do… like a big hunk under S (I suppose it’s rather like Julie Powell’s difficulty with having to cook Julia Child’s unappealing French aspics) and I’m surely not prepared to try Celibacy, Promiscuity or Suicide.  What Joy is in that, Edmund White?

So your humble blogger changed his mind.

Though I must admit that, like the Julie/Julia Project blog, The Gay Groom also enjoys blogging with a mission. When I was posting pieces on our wedding preparation, I liked that there was an actual end to the blogging project (the wedding).

But what is the mandate of this new The Gay Groom blog? What is the trajectory?

And while we are on the subject of Julie and Julia, I have to say I simply do not believe Julie Powell cooked all those 524 recipes in 364 days?

I’ve check the old archives for Julie/Julia Project and found that the daily posts were pretty small. Usually something like: “baked a Queen of Sheba cake and pheasant under glass after working until 10pm. It was good” (not an actual quote so don’t sue me, Julie).

But there was no real description. Just how much would it cost her to cook all those French recipes? Did no one ask? Wasn’t she just a civil servant?   I would have taken a photo of every one of the 524 recipes I made for verification (and just for my own thrill of cooking all of Julia Child’s French food)!  I’m not calling her a liar but….

Perhaps I’m just a skeptic all-round.

So I suppose I could always just SAY I’m working my way through The New Joy of Gay Sex without actually doing it… nah.  Some creep will ask for photos for verification.

Of course I could always do some of the entries and blog about them…

I’ll have to think about it.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

3 Comments

Filed under blogging, gay, gay canada, Gay erotica, gay fiction, gay groom, gay men, gay toronto, gaygroom, gblt, gblt fiction, Joy Of Gay Sex, Julie and Julia, New Joy of Gay Sex, writing

3 responses to “The New Joy of Gay Sex Project?

  1. Cb

    I am now curious about all the stuff under “s”– like sucking??

    • No, The Gay Groom doesn’t have a problem with that, per se. It’s the Sleazy Sadomasochism and other unpleasant Stuff that’s not very intriguing. I’ll let you peruse the Table o f Contents the next time you’re at your local Barnes and Noble. Most of the C are pretty good, I dare say 🙂

  2. Pingback: Not Another Year in Review Blog! | The Gay Groom

Leave a Reply

