Same-sex couples mark 10th anniversary

On January 14 2001, Joe Varnell and Kevin Bourassa, along with Anne and Elaine Vautour, were the first same-sex couples to be married in Toronto’s Metropolitan Community Church (MCC).

Tonight the couples will renew their vows along with fifty other couples at a celebratory service at MCC.

And this time Rev. Brent Hawkes, the man who married the two couples, will not have to worry about protests and death threats (or wear a bullet-proof vest at the ceremony) as he did the first time.

Read more:

CBC – Same-sex couples mark 10th anniversary.

As you know, your humble blogger was married in October 2009.

The Gay Groom (right) and his Husband

A few weeks ago, MCC was looking for married couples to join Varnell, Bourassa and the Vautours to renew their vows at the church.  Now I have to admit that (for a brief moment) I thought about volunteering to be one of those fifty couples – but ultimately decided not to.

Being an atheist, I just couldn’t do it.

I simply could not get married – or even renew my vows – in a church.

In fact, I specifically ensured that my own wedding had no religious overtones (see my blog Creating a god-Free Wedding).

Though I am there in spirit.  Actually I don’t believe in a spirit either so I suppose I’ll just send my best regards and thanks to these courageous trail blazers for same-sex marriage.

But up here in Canada we don’t call it “same-sex marriage”.

We just call it marriage.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

Leave a comment

Filed under atheism, atheist, gay, gay atheist, gay canada, gay groom, gay marriage, gay men, gay toronto, gay wedding, gaygroom, gblt, just married, wedding

Leave a Reply

