The Gay Groom is Wired, Part II (or Let’s Talk Grindr and Scruff)

And no gay man worth his salt can talk about the iPhone apps without talking about Grindr.

Grindr is an app that… well let me quote their own webpage:

“The go-to place for gay, bi, and curious guys to meet, the location-based Grindr is free, fast, and fun. It uses GPS technology in your iPhone or BlackBerry and Wi-Fi in your iPod touch or iPad to determine your exact location and instantly connect you with guys in your area. Simply launch Grindr to see local guys (the closest appear first) and view pictures, stats, and map locations at a tap. It’s that easy. So come on, see who’s available on Grindr.”

Now your humble blogger has been attached for about two or three hundred years now.  No, I’m kidding… I’ve only been with The Husband about a hundred years.

But I have heard from my friends that couples (both straight and gay) are now meeting on the internet (Match dot com, Lifemates etc.).  Thus, it seems to your humble blogger that Grindr is just the logical next step for gay guys to meet new friends for friendship, dating or both.  And though I met my Husband the old fashioned way (he picked me up in a gay bar), I think Grindr and apps like it are actually a good thing.

As E.M. Forster said: “Only connect”.

Intrigued (and for the purposes of investigation for The Gay Groom blog), I created a profile on Grindr (with the full and written consent of The Husband) but, as it turned out, no one sent me a message.  Perhaps it was because I had used my wedding photo in my profile?  Or maybe because I said I was “happily married and just looking about material for my blog”.  But for whatever reason, I was unpopular (it was rather like high school all over again).

There is also an app that is like Grindr but is for the more bearish in the gay community called Scruff.

It works basically the same way as Gridr but has a few more ‘fun’ features like the ability to ‘woof’ (rather like the Facebook poke) at other members and there is also a tool, ‘Would you meet…” where you can say no, maybe or yes.  If you both say ‘yes’ to meeting, then the Scruff app will let you know.

Actually, I was never woofed at on Scruff either.

And since your humble blogger (being not only married but also apparently quite unpopular) could not get any practical experience with either Grindr or Scruff, he must rely on his wonderful readers.

So tell me, have you met anybody on Gridr or Scruff? Was it a good experience?  Would you use it again to meet ‘friends’?  Are they any other apps for gay men out there you would suggest?

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

6 Comments

Filed under atheism, atheist, blogging, gay, gay atheist, gay bears, gay blogging, gay canada, gay daddies, gay fiction, gay groom, gay mature, gay men, gay sex, gay toronto, gay valentine, gblt, grindr, grindr app, same-sex marriage, scruff, scruff app, smartphone, writers, writing

6 responses to “The Gay Groom is Wired, Part II (or Let’s Talk Grindr and Scruff)

  1. tdub68

    yep.
    met the current beau on Grindr.

  2. Cb

    I have met guys from both Grindr AND Scruff. All have been “fulfilling” experiences.

    I will say this. In my area, Grindr is dominated by 20-something twinks. (Aka not my type)

    And scruff seems to cater to men who have at the very least embraced puberty. (Aja more my speed)

    • Glad to hear the apps have worked for you 🙂 I wonder if it’s because the young are the first to embrace technology that Grindr is mostly 20-somethings. Or do older men need their own app (like Scruff) called PrimeTime or something? For mature men and their admirers.

      I still haven’t had one bloody ‘woof’ on Scruff! Maybe I’m not scruffy enough. 😉

  3. I’ve never met anyone but enjoy chatting on grindr ever so often.

Leave a Reply

