The Gay Groom Takes a Holiday

Palm Springs

Blogging can be exhausting and strenuous work.  So your humble blogger will be taking the next week off and heading down to Palm Springs for a week-long holiday.

It has been a long miserable winter in Toronto  And though the Husband and I were not intending to go south this winter, it all finally became unbearable.

So we decided to go south.

We will be staying at a new guesthouse – not ‘new’ per se  – but one of those old 1950s Palm Springs guesthouses that has been recently renovated and reopened under new management and a new name.   I hope it’s alright.  The Gay Groom has an irrational fear of bedbugs (actually, The Gay Groom does not think it’s ‘irrational’ at all).  We stayed at this guesthouse before (under old management and old name) and had a fine time.  It’s a quiet place with a slightly older crowd (or at least it was).

And we are going the week before the Palm Springs White Party.   We specifically chose not to be there during all the craziness of the White Party as your humble blogger and the Husband are definitely not what you’d call ‘White Party People’.

We are more ‘In Bed at 11pm People’.

And that is what this holiday is about – relaxing.  I’m going to park my ass by the pool and not move.  I’ve taken a magnum of sun screen, flip-flops and a novel (The Slap by Australian author Christos Tsiolkas – has anyone read it?).  What more does one need at a guest house in Palm Springs?

And it looks like it’s going to be a scorcher.

Palm Springs Weather Forecast

I did the calculations for my American readers and 37 degrees Celsius is equivalent to 100 degrees Fahrenheit (I think it also equates to ‘fucking hot!’).  So I’ll have to be extra careful not to fry my big white Canadian ass while I’m down there.   Though it looks like I may need a shawl when the temperature drops to 14°C (57°F) on Saturday night.

A friend asked if the Husband and I will be taking the cable car up Mount San Jacinto to see the snow.

Are you kidding?

So though I have the WordPress app on my iPhone, I’m not sure I’d be able to post anything other than a few lines and an iPhone photo on my blog.

But we shall see.  Much depends on the dependability of the wi-fi at the guesthouse.

See you all in a week or so with all our holiday info.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

2 Comments

Filed under atheist, canada, gay, gay atheist, gay bears, gay blogging, gay daddies, gay groom, gay holiday, gay men, gay Palm Springs, gay travel, gay vacation, gaygroom, Palm Springs, silverdaddies

2 responses to “The Gay Groom Takes a Holiday

  1. Bon voyage! Enjoy your week in our fair state!

    • Thanks, Jeff! We’re certainly looking forward to California (and seeing the sun again… it’s been so bloody long!).
      Give my best to your hubby too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

