Calling All Idiots, the CN Tower EdgeWalk May Be For You

CN Tower Edge Walk

Now something from the ‘You-gotta-be-kidding-me’ file

As if to usher in the new Age of Stupid with the Conservative majority last week, the CN tower in Toronto has announced it will be offering a new attraction called “EdgeWalk”.

EdgeWalk will allow thrill seekers (or as I call them, ‘idiots’) walk on a narrow ledge around the top of the tower, 356 metres above the ground.  Said ‘idiots’ will walk hands-free while attached to an overhead safety harness.  Specially trained guides will encourage visitors to push their personal limits, even allowing them to lean out 116 stories above the city.

Mark Laroche, president and CEO of Canada Lands Company, which owns and operates the CN Tower exclaimed with the giddiness of a schoolboy that “EdgeWalk is both thrilling and unique and will push visitors to their limits — literally and figuratively.”  Reports say the EdgeWalk, which will begin on Aug.1, will cost $175.

Now it may come as a surprise to some of you but your humble blogger is no stranger to thrill seeking.

In fact, I once parachuted.  It was without a doubt the stupidest thing I have ever done.  Let me give you the lowdown on parachuting.  After a morning of ‘training’ (where they show you a video and have you jump from a platform about four feet above the ground) you climb into a plane with three other idiots and jump one by one out.  As you hurl toward earth you hope that the parachute opens without you getting wrapped up in it.  The few minutes of floating down was nice but…

Sadly, I landed badly – actually I smashed into the ground with such force that I first thought I broke my back.  In fact I did hear a crack.  About three weeks later (and a few x-rays) luckily my back snapped back into place.

I never did that again.

I actually have my jump on video (there was a video camera on the wing of the plane); I’ll have to get it transferred to DVD then I’ll post it.

So for you idiots looking for the thrill of walking along the tower (and what was, until recently, the tallest free standing structure in the world) with only a harness between you and one hell of a drop, you can get more information at the EdgeWalk website: http://www.edgewalkcntower.ca/.

Way Up There, Way Out There (idiotic tag line too)

And when you fall, aim for the grass.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

2 Comments

Filed under blogging, canada, cn tower, edge walk, edgewalk, gay groom, toronto

2 responses to “Calling All Idiots, the CN Tower EdgeWalk May Be For You

  1. Craig

    Jeffrey, I will admit to being one of the idiots who is actually considering doing this once it opens!

  2. Like I said, I jumped out of a perfectly good plane. So ‘idiot’ was more a term of endearment – since I consider myself with that group 😉 But I’d double/triple check that tiny cable that will holding you on if I were you!

Leave a Reply

