Wake Me Up When September Ends

September already?

I always feel a little melancholy as September begins.  Perhaps it is because that, even though it is months away, I begin to see myself in my fur hat and boots slugging through another winter.

“Oh god, another winter.”

It was a hot summer in Toronto.  We broke records for heat and lack of rain.  All those things they say will get worse as we begin cooking in our own juices as the climate continues to heat up.   But despite the coming environmental crisis,  all in all it was a lovely summer.

Today is looks like rain.

I was never the keener kid that started to look forward to going back to school in early August.  I despised all those bloody Woolco ‘back to school’ commercials that ran through August (I’m not any more fond of them today either).  I can recall nearly every first day of school with a mix of sadness and bitterness.  I remember how those still new corduroy pants felt on my legs.  I hated being back in long pants and shoes.  I still do.

September is a drag.

First of all, it’s impossible to dress for September.  It’s either too hot or too cold for whatever you have on.  You have to carry around a jacket even though the sun is burning through your shirt just in case it rains.  A warm sunny day will suddenly turn cold and damp.  Those evening walks you took after dinner disappear and the nights become cooler.

September is also loud.  This may not be a problem for you if you live in the suburbs, but for those of us that live near a college campus (The University of Toronto is across the street from my home) the influx of frosh in the first week (many who have never been away from home and are having their first taste of freedom – and booze) means noise, either in the streets or down the hall as new students rent suites in my luxury condominium (by the way, what are college students doing in a luxury condominium anyway?  When I was in college I lived in a firetrap boarding house that had one hotplate for six guys… but I digress).

In fact, I think my feelings can be summed up best by quoting that other oft-misunderstood chap, Dr. Seuss’ Grinch:

“And then…all the noise!  All the noise, noise, noise, noise!
If there’s one thing I hate…all the noise, noise, noise, noise!
And they’ll shriek, squeak, and squeal racing round on their wheels,
Then dance with jin-tinglers tied onto their heels!”

Now you humble blogger was no angel when he was a college student either but… well, I suppose there is no ‘but’.

And on a more personal note, the few times in my life that I was dumped (it should be noted that I was usually the ‘dumper’ and not the ‘dumpee’) was also in September.

But that’s another blog (or two).

And to be perfectly honest I’m really not up for all the 10th anniversary of 9/11 stuff that is about to engulf us.

It was rough enough for me the first time.

And I enjoy a good election as much as the next guy… but after just going through a nasty federal election in May, I’m not really in the mood for a month of political ads (for the Ontario Provincial Election on October 6) interrupting Judge Judy and Hoarders.  I just may not watch network television again until October 7.

Thank god for TCM and HBO.

Finally, September is the month when I’m going to have surgery.  In a few days your humble blogger will be having my Functional Endoscopic Sinus Sugery (FESS) – which is a kinda Roto-Rooter for the sinus passages.

At least I have Demerol to look forward to.

But what about you?  Are you  a September fan… or a September Grinch?

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

4 Comments

Filed under 9/11, blogging, canada, ENT, FESS, gay, gay blogging, gay groom, gay toronto, gaygroom, gblt, ontario, september, sinus sugery

4 responses to “Wake Me Up When September Ends

  1. Ray

    I like September. Even when I was going to grade school, I loved the scent of leaves and the cooler temperatures. Of course in my day, there was also the scent of freshly varnished school desks.
    There’s a “back to routine” about it that I find comforting. And a big plus, those here in the Village that are stuck in the “torn denim cut-offs and tank top” era are persuaded to cover up.

    Upon reading this, I can totally understand your ambivalence. If you came from my family, school was a refuge.
    I agree about September 11 remembrances. I can’t even read the photo series the Globe’s publishing. And you know that it will be just another partisan playing field in the States.

    I wish you all the best with your surgery. Who “nose”, you could come out singing like Barbra 😉

  2. Sean

    I kind of like September in middle age. The weather is still nice, but you can find an excuse to wear last winter’s cashmere sweater in the evenings, if only tied around your neck. Or maybe a fancily tied scarf, but only for decorative purposes, because it’s not actually cold.
    With you on the 9/11 thing completely. And if I see Dalton McGuinty or Tim Hudak interrupting House Hunters again, trying to get me to vote for them, I will hurl my drink at the screen.

    • Metaphorically, September like middle age, I suppose. Yes, scarves are most fun to wear when they are not actually needed to keep the snow out of the inside of ones jacket. If I had scheduled my surgery better, I could have been under anesthesia through all of 9/11…

Leave a Reply

