Running a Half-Marathon for Multiple Myeloma

Today your humble blogger signed up to run a half-marathon.

Has he lost his mind?

Perhaps, but it’s for a good cause.  He will be raising funds for Multiple Myeloma research.  You can be forgiven it you don’t know what Multiple Myeloma (MM) is.

Back in 2010 I had never heard of MM either.

Multiple Myeloma, a cancer of the plasma cells, is the 2nd most common blood cancer after Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma. Each year 2100 new patients in Canada are diagnosed with this treatable, but incurable, disease.

In 2010 my father was one of them.

MM is an ugly disease.  There is no part of the body that isn’t ravished by it; bones, kidneys, eyes, brain, spine… so I think that the struggle of running 13+ miles is nothing compared to the struggle my father is going through.

I did a 5K for MM last year but this is my first half-marathon.  In fact, I’ve never run more than a 10K race.  And I’m not currently in what you may call “tip top shape”.  To start, the Gay Groom hasn’t actually run at all since his sinus surgery back in September… I’m more “tip over shape”.

So this should be interesting.

Even more interesting is that I signed up the Husband to run along with me (without actually telling him).  I suppose I’ll have to break the news to him soon.  I’m sure he’ll be thrilled.

I hope.

I will be blogging about my progress and I get closer to the run date of May 06, 2012.  Anyone who wants to sponsor me for my run can do so here:

Jeff’s Half Marathon Page

So any advice on training for a half-marathon from other runners?  I’ll also be on RunKeeper app for those wanting to join me there.

Jeffrey after a 5K, July 2011

In other news

Your humble blogger is still without his laptop.

Regular readers will know of the Cerulean Screen of Death he had last week.  Well I did go speak to the folks at Best Buy’s Geek Squad and they quoted me a few hundred dollars to fix my problem.  Final cost would depend if it’s a hard drive or operating system problem.  Seemed excessive so I packed up my busted laptop and left.

I’ll have to wait.

Contrary to popular belief, bloggers do not make millions of dollars.  Even the author of a popular blog like The Gay Groom.  So your humble blogger will just have to see if getting his old 2006 laptop fixed is the most economical way of handling the problem (whatever the hell it is).  Perhaps I should just wait and buy a new laptop.

I need a grant.

In the meantime, my writing (and blogging) is occurring a little more sporadically.  Hopefully I will be back to 100% by the new year (and who knows, maybe I will find a nifty new laptop under our tree on Xmas morning).

And remember there is a “Donate” button to your right if you want to help a blogger out.

Speaking of Xmas

We received our first Xmas card this week.  Perhaps I should have waited for a few more before deciding to string them on the wall?

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

The First Xmas Card of 2011

2 Comments

Filed under best buy, Christmas, gay blogging, gay groom, gaygroom, geek squad, goodlife toronto marathon, half marathon, jogging, marathon, multiple myeloma, runkeeper, running

2 responses to “Running a Half-Marathon for Multiple Myeloma

  1. sweetopiagirl

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  2. richard

    just curious why u are asking for donations from your readers. it seems u live a very luxurious lifestyle- living in a condo in downtown Toronto with a concierge, working with a personal trainer, going to Palm Springs in the winter, going on Atlantis cruises. If you need money for your blog why don’t u seek out advertisers? I also write a successful blog but have never asked my readers for donations and don’t live as a glamorous lifestyle as u and don’t have a personal trainer.

Leave a Reply

