Another Bloody Birthday Blog

Where ya been, Gay Groom?

I’ve been asked this a few times over the last month as I have not been posting with my usual infrequent randomness.  Well I’m happy to announce that your humble blogger’s novel, Shirts and Skins, was finally bought by a US publisher and will (barring any unforeseen problems, pitfalls or tragedies) be published in May 2012.

So for the past month I’ve been doing some editing, re-editing, and re-re-editing (and even some writing) and now, happily, the copy edit (that’s publisher-speak) is in the publisher’s hands and the ARCs (advance reader copies – that’s publisher-speak too) have been sent to some fellow authors and mentors (including Governor General Award winner and Order of Canada recipient Nino Ricci, CBC Literary Award short-lister Lauren B. Davis and the uber talented author and journalist Michael Rowe) to provide a ‘blurb’ (a nice sentence or two about my book – yet more publisher-speak) for the book copy.  In a couple of weeks I have my photo taken for the back cover of the book.  I can’t decide what to wear.  I’m thinking white shirt and blue blazer.  Or should it be my brown jacket?  And then there’s the whole smile or no smile question.

Over the next few months I’ll be blogging about releasing my first novel.  Hopefully the experience will help emerging writers who are about to go through the same thing.

But since today is The Gay Groom’s 44th (good lord!) birthday, I thought it would be a good time to stretch my blogging muscles again. And they are a bit rusty. I hope I don’t pull something…

As I mentioned last year in my “Gay Groom Turns 43″ blog, your humble blogger was born on the day the Tet Offensive began (click here to read my Tết birthday blog from last year).  Now the Tet Offensive won’t mean much to anyone under fifty (and isn’t as cool as Levon who was born on the day “when the New York Times said god is dead”) but the Tet Offensive was a very big deal back in 1968.  It was (according to historians) the turning point of the Vietnam War.

Unfortunately, the Tet Offensive was not a good turning point for the US.

Speaking of turning points, do you recollect when Anne Bancroft threw that drink in Shirley Maclaine’s face in The Turning Point (the 1977 film about two rival ballerinas coming to terms with middle age)?  I’ve always wanted to throw a drink in Shirley Maclaine’s face too.  But I digress.

And now, like Anne and Shirley, The Gay Groom is also coming to terms with middle age.  But as I’ve said before, I look at birthdays as another year that the world has been blessed with me. I think everyone should look at their birthdays that way.  And with my book being released, 44 should be a rather interesting year for The Gay Groom – and rest assure he’ll continue to blog about it the whole bloody time.

PS:  Thanks to everyone who left birthday message here, on Facebook and on Twitter.

I have the best readers/friends/pals/family/etc.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

14 Comments

Filed under birthday, canada, gay, gay birthday, gay blogging, gay groom, gay mature, getting older, happy birthday

14 responses to “Another Bloody Birthday Blog

  1. JustAMike

    Happy birthday!

  2. DPC

    Happy birthday and grats on the novel!

  3. Happy what they all said, Happy Birthday.

    You should update your blog address on your blogger profile (used for commenting). I’m not sure many people will see your new address in your profile.

    Now excuse me as I a new blog to read.

    • For some reason I could not link to my WordPress blog to Blogger comments today so I used my old Blogger (which I only set up to grab the name “Gay Groom :). Will try and update my blogger profile. Sorry for the inconvenience, Sean.

  4. Ron

    Happy birthday! I’m new to your blog but I’m looking forward to catching up. Great title for your blog. My partner and I are about to get Civil Unioned here where we live in Delaware in the next few months. 🙂

  5. Ron

    By the way, 44 years old? You’re a mere child. Wait until you reach my age. Life is a whole lot different from this perspective, believe you me. 🙂

  6. Ron

    Great format for your blog too. Clean lines. Lots of white space. Is this the Steve Jobs influence? 😉

  7. tdub68

    just so many congrats on publishing a book….i’m hoping to join your ranks next year… we’ll see 🙂 so so so so excited for you!!!

Leave a Reply

