Skipping Pride

First I should say that I am a big fan of Gay Pride.

In fact, I was Priding when Priding wasn’t cool. Your Humble Blogger has marched, danced, ran in the Pride 5K, partied till dawn, got sunburned, rained on, injured, and have been drunk as a skunk, high as a kite, told I was going to hell by religious nuts, and screwed like a bunny.

Seriously, I’m a big fan.

See Pride photos from last years Pride

But I’m just not feeling it this year. It’s not that I’m anti-Pride like those grumpy gays that bitch about Pride being too radical, or not radical enough or too sexual or not sexual enough, or too corporate or… well, you’ve heard it all before. It seems like the only thing gay men agree upon is our mutual admiration of… well… you know.

I’m just not in a Pride mood this year.

Some years are like that. A few years back the Husband and I left town completely for a quiet weekend at a B&B in Stratford, Ontario to see The Tempest and Oklahoma. Another year we took the train to Niagara Falls for the weekend.

This year we aren’t leaving town but just… kind of avoiding it.

Tomorrow we will likely walk the opposite direction for a quiet coffee in the university campus instead of one in the overcrowded Church Street area. We will read some, nap some, and watch TV while the constant THUMP THUMP THUMP from the street dance on Church rattles our windows almost a mile away.

By the way, has anyone else noticed how that whole “rave generation” is beginning to show its age? But I digress.

I will, however, be doing one Pride event: On Sunday I will be having brunch with my niece (who is coming in from a small town in Quebec for Pride). That is a nice quiet moment in Pride that I can get into this year.

So perhaps I will be more interested in the party next year but for now, just let me wish you all a, “Happy Pride”… from a distance.

So tell me, have you ever skipped Pride?

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

2 Comments

Filed under canada, canada day, gay, gay blog, gay canada, gay men, gay pride, pride, toronto, toronto gay pride

2 responses to “Skipping Pride

  1. Yup, did it this year 2012. Spent that amazing weekend at a friend’s cottage by Muskoka lakes. Skipping it a few years is not the end of my ‘gay membership’. I hope. LOL

Leave a Reply

