Ricky Martin and Me

Jeffrey outside the Marquis Theatre with Ricky Martin

The Husband and I just returned from a long weekend in New York City.

I love NYC. I love the crowds, the skyscrapers, the big three dollar pretzels they sell on the street, the museums – and, of course, Broadway.

And one of my favourite musicals of all time is Evita, the musical based on the life and death of the first lady of Argentina, Eva Peron. Which is odd since I’m not really a big Andrew Lloyd Webber fan. But in my youth I did have the Original Broadway Cast album of Evita – with Patti LuPone as Eva and Mandy Patinkin as Che – and pretty much wore the record down to nothing.

How gay was I?

I had even asked my mother to take me to see the touring production when it came to Toronto in the early 80s.

So I was devastated when my mother absolutely refused to take me off to Toronto on the bus to see Evita.

Apparently my mother’s tastes moved more toward Mary Poppins and Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. “You want to see a musical about some Argentinian fascists? I don’t think so!” she said.

I’m still somewhat bitter about that, actually.

Now, after thirty years, your humble blogger finally saw Evita.  (I don’t actually consider the Madonna film as “seeing Evita”, but I digress.)

And The Gay Groom knows that there has been some mixed reviews about this revival. Some people have found Elena Roger’s voice screechy. Some people have found Ricky Martin’s voice weak. Some people disliked the direction.

But this people loved it!

It was the most fun I’ve had at a musical since Patti LuPone starred in Gypsy at the St. James a few years back.

But I  do have to admit that I’ve been crushing on Ricky Martin for years. I think the guy is a dreamboat. I started planning this vacation since it was first announced that he was going to be doing the revival a couple of years ago. And did you know Ricky actually sent me a message on Twitter when I wrote a witty tweet about coming down to see the show?

What a sweetheart!

So I suppose I may be a bit biased when it comes to Ricky Martin… but why not listen and decide for yourself.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Ricky Martin and Me

  1. I think they sounded lovely. I shall have to plan on seeing this. NYC is only a few hours east for me!

  2. Thank you for sharing a lovely story!

  3. cb

    Yes- but did you see “Starry Night”?

    And I can’t do anything with Patti Lupone. Or Mandy. Even in the 70’s

  4. Lori Hughes

    I live in Las Vegas and I planned my 40 birthday around Ricky Martin and Evita, he was wonderful. He even signed my arm at the backstage door and I now have it tattooed!

  5. Pingback: Goodbye 2012 | The Gay Groom

Leave a Reply

