Our Leather Anniversary

So how many of you out there know what the traditional gift for the third wedding anniversary is?

I didn’t.

Though it does seem that this little bit of trivia would be something that the Gay Groom should have known – being that his third wedding anniversary is tomorrow. But apparently it’s true: the traditional gift for the first wedding anniversary is paper, the gift for the second anniversary is cotton, and the gift for the third wedding anniversary is… wait for it…

Leather!

So, for the benefit of my readers, your humble blogger decided to get the low-down on leather and I thought the best place to start would be at Northbound Leather on Yonge Street in downtown Toronto.

Northbound Leather has been around for decades.

And although I can see their back door (no pun intended – okay, maybe a bit intended) from my condo window, your humble blogger has never actually ventured inside.

I suppose I should mention at this point that I am completely ignorant when it comes to the leather community.

The only leather I wear are my Doc Martens – but I digress.

And ignorant as your humble blogger was, the nice folks at Northbound Leather (and they were very nice) gave me the inside story on leather and their shop.

When asked who their clientele were (I thought it would be primarily gay leather men searching for a new hood or chaps), I was told that it was really a cross section of society – men, women, gay, straight.

Yes, it seems like anyone in all walks of life and from 18-80 (yes, grandparents too, I’m told, put on a harness or enjoy a cat o’ nine tails from time to time) have shown up at Northbound Leather. And as Northbound says, they are “proud supporter of the leather, fetish, bdsm, gay, transgender and alternative communities”.

And speaking of support… there was a large selection of leather jockstraps to fit every size – but, again, I digress.

Northbound also supports monthly Fetish Fridays and on October 13 will host their 16th annual fetish party “Dream” where thousands will turn up to party (and where “strict fetish dress code enforced”).

I’m guessing my Tommy Hilfiger won’t cut it.

Not just leather

Leather accoutrement

Northbound Leather

I was surprised – and impressed – to discover that Northbound also has its own factory on the second floor of the building where they design and produce their own product from local cows.

And I’ve always said we should buy local.

At this point I thought of trying on ass-less chaps but ultimately decided against it.

And yes, I did buy The Husband a gift there for our leather anniversary tomorrow but I’m not going to tell you what it is. Come on! The Gay Groom can’t share everything on this blog!

But I will say that The Husband and I are planning an anniversary dinner tomorrow evening and then a romantic night to celebrate wedding anniversary number three.

Hmmmm…. maybe I’ll go back and try on those ass-less chaps.

Jeffrey, The Gay Groom

8 Comments

Filed under anniversary, gay, gay anniversary, gay groom, leather, leather anniversary, northbound leather, third anniversary

8 responses to “Our Leather Anniversary

  1. Happy Anniversary as well. 🙂

  2. HAHA, love reading your posts. Enjoy your anniversary and enjoy the gift as well. Just try not waking up the neighbours 😉

  3. Congratulations, Jeffrey! I’m so happy for you and your husband. As to the leather gift, I think you’d look darn cute in this.

  4. Pingback: Goodbye 2012 | The Gay Groom

Leave a Reply

