What the Atlantis Cruisers Were Reading This Year

img_0888x1

The husband and I just returned from a (mostly) all-gay Atlantis cruise through the Caribbean and the islands of St. Maarten, St. Kitts and San Juan on Royal Caribbean’s Independence of the Seas.

A photoblog will follow later this week.

But for now, since Your Humble Blogger fancies himself a bit of a writer, I decided to check out what the reading material was on board – for those that could keep their eyes on their books.

By the way, have include the Amazon link and description for each book (though, unfortunately, I will not be providing contact information for all the handsome guys reading them).

Thanks to all the reading men!

Independence of the Seas - Part Duex 059

The Great Gatsby

Guys with glasses are so sexy!

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted “gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession,” it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s.
The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.And it is one of your Humble Bloggers favourite novels as well.
Independence of the Seas - Part Duex 063

The Witches of Eastwick

The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike.

Toward the end of the Vietnam era, in a snug little Rhode Island seacoast town, wonderful powers have descended upon Alexandra, Jane, and Sukie, bewitching divorcées with sudden access to all that is female, fecund, and mysterious. Alexandra, a sculptor, summons thunderstorms; Jane, a cellist, floats on the air; and Sukie, the local gossip columnist, turns milk into cream. Their happy little coven takes on new, malignant life when a dark and moneyed stranger, Darryl Van Horne, refurbishes the long-derelict Lenox mansion and invites them in to play. Thenceforth scandal flits through the darkening, crooked streets of Eastwick—and through the even darker fantasies of the town’s collective psyche.

It is one of my favourite Updike novels.

Independence of the Seas - 2013 745

The Art of Racing in the Rain

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope–a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

The bestselling The Art of Racing in the Rain is currently 349 in books on Amazon.

Anyone else read it?

Independence of the Seas - 2013 724

Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

Marriage can be a real killer.

One of the most critically acclaimed suspense writers of our time, New York Times bestseller Gillian Flynn takes that statement to its darkest place in this unputdownable masterpiece about a marriage gone terribly, terribly wrong. The Chicago Tribune proclaimed that her work “draws you in and keeps you reading with the force of a pure but nasty addiction.” Gone Girl’s toxic mix of sharp-edged wit and deliciously chilling prose creates a nerve-fraying thriller that confounds you at every turn.

I’m not sure “unputdownable” is a word, but who could put the adorable guy reading it down?

Independence of the Seas - 2013 723

11th Hour (Women’s Murder Club)

11th Hour by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro is currently the #2 book on Amazon.

I suppose I should have heard of it.

But I have not added to my reading list.

Lindsay Boxer is pregnant at last! But her work doesn’t slow for a second. When millionaire Chaz Smith is mercilessly gunned down, she discovers that the murder weapon is linked to the deaths of four of San Francisco’s most untouchable criminals. And it was taken from her own department’s evidence locker. Anyone could be the killer–even her closest friends.

Independence of the Seas - 2013 453

Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz.

In Bob Spitz’s definitive, wonderfully affectionate biography, the Julia we know and love comes vividly — and surprisingly — to life.  In Dearie, Spitz employs the same skill he brought to his best-selling, critically acclaimed book The Beatles, providing a clear-eyed portrait of one of the most fascinating and influential Americans of our time — a woman known to all, yet known by only a few.

And speaking of food. What did you (those who were on the cruise) think of the food?

Would Julia have approved of the grub on Independence of the Seas?

Independence of the Seas - 2013 464

Neptune’s Inferno: The U.S. Navy at Guadalcanal

First of all, how sexy are these guys??

Neptune’s Inferno: The U.S. Navy at Guadalcanal by James D. Hornfischer.

The Battle of Guadalcanal has long been heralded as a Marine victory. Now, with his powerful portrait of the Navy’s sacrifice, James D. Hornfischer tells for the first time the full story of the men who fought in destroyers, cruisers, and battleships in the narrow, deadly waters of “Ironbottom Sound.” Here, in stunning cinematic detail, are the seven major naval actions that began in August 1942, a time when the war seemed unwinnable and America fought on a shoestring, with the outcome always in doubt. Working from new interviews with survivors, unpublished eyewitness accounts, and newly available documents, Hornfischer paints a vivid picture of the officers and enlisted men who opposed the Japanese in America’s hour of need.

Pretty heady stuff!

Independence of the Seas - 2013 462

The Weird Sisters

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown.

Three sisters have returned to their childhood home, reuniting the eccentric Andreas family. Here, books are a passion (there is no problem a library card can’t solve) and TV is something other people watch. Their father-a professor of Shakespeare who speaks almost exclusively in verse-named them after the Bard’s heroines. It’s a lot to live up to.

The sisters have a hard time communicating with their parents and their lovers, but especially with one another. What can the shy homebody eldest sister, the fast-living middle child, and the bohemian youngest sibling have in common? Only that none has found life to be what was expected; and now, faced with their parents’ frailty and their own personal disappointments, not even a book can solve what ails them…

Independence of the Seas - 2013 748

L’épreuve, Tome 1 : Le Labyrinthe

And as it was a truly International cruise…

L’épreuve, Tome 1 : Le Labyrinthe de James Dashner   is the French version of James Dashner’s The Maze Runner.

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift. Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

I’ve never heard of Dashner’s series but it sounds interesting – in both French and English!

Independence of the Seas - 2013 162

Gilded Lives, Fatal Voyage: The Titanic’s First-Class Passengers and Their World

And this is what Your Humble Blogger was reading.

Seems appropos.

Gilded Lives, Fatal Voyage: The Titanic’s First-Class Passengers and Their World by Hugh Brewster.

The Titanic has often been called “an exquisite microcosm of the Edwardian era,” but until now, her story has not been presented as such. In Gilded Lives, Fatal Voyage, historian Hugh Brewster seamlessly interweaves personal narratives of the lost liner’s most fascinating people with a haunting account of the fateful maiden crossing. Employing scrupulous research and featuring 100 rarely-seen photographs, he accurately depicts the ship’s brief life and tragic denouement, presenting the very latest thinking on everything from when and how the lifeboats were loaded to the last tune played by the orchestra. Yet here too is a convincing evocation of the table talk at the famous Widener dinner party held in the Ritz Restaurant on the last night. And here we also experience the rustle of elegant undergarments as first-class ladies proceed down the grand staircase in their soigné evening gowns, some of them designed by Lady Duff Gordon, the celebrated couterière, who was also on board.

Independence of the Seas - Part Duex 036

Shirts and Skins

Look what I found!

Shirts and Skins by Jeffrey Luscombe

Shirts and Skins is a remarkable debut novel from Jeffrey Luscombe-a compelling series of linked stories of a young man’s coming-out, coming-of-age, and coming-to-terms with his family and fate. Josh Moore lives with his family on the ‘wrong side’ of Hamilton, a gritty industrial city in southwestern Ontario. As a young boy, Josh plots an escape for a better life far from the steel mills that lined the bay. But fate has other plans and Josh discovers his adult life in Toronto is just as fraught with as many insecurities and missteps as his youth and he soon learns that no matter how far away he might run, he will never be able to leave his hometown behind.

And I also signed one copy of  Shirts and Skins, and found another on a Kindle.

And finally…
Independence of the Seas - 2013 728
The Sun Also Rises by Earnest Hemmingway.
The quintessential novel of the Lost Generation, The Sun Also Rises is one of Ernest Hemingway’s masterpieces and a classic example of his spare but powerful writing style. A poignant look at the disillusionment and angst of the post-World War I generation, the novel introduces two of Hemingway’s most unforgettable characters: Jake Barnes and Lady Brett Ashley. The story follows the flamboyant Brett and the hapless Jake as they journey from the wild nightlife of 1920s Paris to the brutal bullfighting rings of Spain with a motley group of expatriates. It is an age of moral bankruptcy, spiritual dissolution, unrealized love, and vanishing illusions. First published in 1926, The Sun Also Rises helped to establish Hemingway as one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century.
Hopefully you found some inspiration – to. um, read.
Jeffrey, The Gay Groom
Advertisements

5 Comments

Filed under atlantis cruise, Atlantis events, gay anniversary, gay beach, gay bears, gay blog, gay blogging, gay books, gay canada, gay cruise, gay cruise photos, gay groom, Independence of the Seas

5 responses to “What the Atlantis Cruisers Were Reading This Year

  1. Love it! How did you manage to go on the one cruise I wasn’t on? My next one is Alaska in July. I’ve read Gone Girl, it was good, better than I thought it would be, though the ending is devisive. This is also a great way to talk to the men who are reading. Again, love it!

  2. The last cruise I was on, Halloween in Mexico from LA, I read The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay.

  3. Pingback: Books I Read in July 2009 « Rafferty's Rules

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s