Today I Lost My Father

10606023_10153325279524112_6050655608470694741_n

Last photo of me and my dad, October 30, 2014

My heart is broken.

Today my father died at the age of 70.

He had been courageously battling Multiple Myeloma (cancer of the blood’s plasma cells) for the last four years. It was a long hard and painful fight.

I think one of the hardest things about losing a parent is knowing there is one less person in the world who really loves you.

26096_429865644111_1415284_n

Dad in the Rockies, early 70s

26096_429865369111_2375684_n

Dad driving west. early 70s

 

10731123_10153324593589112_4795097946307182237_n

Dad and me, Early 70s.

Just three days ago we had Xmas dinner at the hospice.

We had hoped to have the family together with him for one last Xmas but he took a turn for the worse the night before and was unable to join us for dinner. Still we were all there and were able to speak to him and tell him how much we love him.

I rushed to Hamilton today and was able to spend some time alone with him one last time.

The fight is over, Dad.

I love you.

 

21 Comments

Filed under multiple myeloma

21 responses to “Today I Lost My Father

  1. wcs

    Condolences. May he rest in peace.

  2. Alan

    My deepest condolences, Jeffrey. I know that he got great comfort by being surrounded by his loving family.

    I especially loved the sweet pictures of you and your Dad, then and now.

  3. Oh Jeffrey, my heart goes out to you, and your family. Please accept my sincere condolences and know that I’m sending virtual hugs your way.

  4. So sorry to hear the news, Jeffrey.
    My condolences to you and your family.
    Thank you for letting us get to know a little of your Dad through your blog posts and mentions.
    The love that emanated from those posts is inspirational.
    Your inclusion of “Superman’s Song” was so appropriate and so heartbreaking.

    Hugs

  5. My condolences to you and your family. Very sad and may you all find comfort at this difficult time. Ivan

  6. My condolences to you and your family. Wishing you peace.

  7. Terry

    So sorry for your loss. Happy for you that you and he were close.

  8. I am just getting around to ‘catching up’..
    I too am saddened to hear this. I am glad you are surrounded here and elsewhere with love and support. Like most people I want to say something helpful but can only come up with lame and useless words to console you.

  9. I am very sorry for your loss.

  10. Neil Mudde

    Hello Jeffrey:
    So sorry to hear (belatedly) about the loss of your Dad, how wonderful that you had a good relationship and the fact that you knew you were loved by your Father will hopefully give you comfort, especially with the holiday season coming on, take good care my friend!

  11. Pingback: Pondering New Years With Marcel Proust | The Gay Groom

Leave a Reply

